Introductory Post

My intent here is to impart some of my favorite participatory nature activities in the form of an entertaining how-to blog. I love to learn new ways to actively view, uncover, catch, and otherwise enjoy flora and fauna, and I want to motivate folks to enjoy the outdoors and to inspire myself to learn more of these fun skills. This attitude toward outdoor pursuits is summarized eloquently by the talented nature writer and academic, Bernd Heinrich, in a great book called Racing the Antelope:

[after deconstructing a red-breasted nuthatch nest as a nature-loving teenager Bernd explains] 

“I hadn’t yet encountered the mind-set of ‘Don’t swat it, don’t catch it, don’t eat it, don’t touch it’ that tends to make nature into a frozen museum exhibit. Nature becomes intensely exciting and real through active participation, beyond just looking at it.”

(He also recounts killing and eating the occasional porcupine as a kid. Cool guy.)

Neither I nor, I assume, Dr. Heinrich would condone the wanton destruction of active bird nests, but I hope readers get my point. Forest and field are much more interesting and entertaining if you jump the trail or boardwalk and take part in some active bothering of nature. I aim to share the great joy I experience from some clever skills, tips, and tricks to enhance the nature viewing experience. Most of my posts will be geared toward the northwoods of eastern North America, but we’ll see where it goes.

Finally I feel obliged to disclaim that one should always check local, state, and federal regulations and her or his moral compass before bothering or molesting any wildlives.

I hope to get the first real post up soon.

Leave a comment